Two students in a library

Please consult university websites for application deadlines- applications should be made direct to the relevant host university using the links provided.

Applicants for Writer Fellowships who apply to more than one university should indicate their preferences. There are ten fellowships to enable academics, writers and translators to spend 2-3 months at specified host universities, devoting themselves to their own work and interacting with colleagues.

Fellows are expected to contribute to the life of the host institution by eg. leading a seminar or presenting their own research or writing.

Please note: Fellows are chosen by agreement between the host university and CWIT.


The applicant should:

  • be Indian citizens living in India
  • be aged between 25 and 45 (there is no upper age limit for translator fellowships)
  • have completed postgraduate studies and/or have at least 5 years professional or academic experience
  • provide a proposal stating clearly what they want to do at the host institution and how they plan to use the experience on return to India
  • not have had a CWIT grant within the previous 5 years.

The Fellowships

  • Writer Fellowship University of Stirling Centre of Commonwealth Studies - contact Dr Gemma Robinson 

For more details, please visit University of Stirling website.

Deadline - 30 November 2018, 5 PM UK time. Please refer to the website for eligibility criteria and application process.

Applications for all of the above should be made directly to the universities using the links provided. Deadlines vary slightly and are indicated on the linked pages of the respective institutions. Please consult university websites for more information.