Students in a seminar
Students taking notes in a seminar ©


NEW DELHI: St. John's College of the University of Cambridge announced the names of the 2013 Dr. Manmohan Singh PhD scholars. The programme has been instituted in recognition of the Prime Minister of India Dr. Manmohan Singh's achievements and hopes to nurture future world leaders in the areas of science, technology and social sciences. 

The scholars this year are Rishika Kundra, MSc, Biomedical Science from Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Centre for Biomedical Research with specialisation in psoriatic arthritis, and Kedar Pandya, MTech, Aerospace Engineering from IIT Bombay, focusing on ballistic impact behaviour of carbon nanotube (CNT) and nanoparticle dispersed resins and composites. The scholarship programme is funded by BP (British Petroleum) and a number of other donors. 

Winner of the 2011 CSIR 'Catch Them Young' Award, Rishika Kundra is keen to address psoriatic arthritis. Kedar Pandya's several achievements at a young age have helped him set his sights towards futuristic goals on composite structures for improved efficiency in aerospace. 'These outstanding young scholars are the latest examples of the hugely talented people this scholarship has attracted. We look forward to welcoming them to Cambridge, and feel sure that they will achieve great things during their time here.' - Stephen Teal, Fellow and Development Director, St John's College, University of Cambridge

Dr. Manmohan Singh met the scholars at his residence and wished them luck as they leave for his alma mater, the University of Cambridge.

News courtesy Times of India

External links