Whether you are a scribbler, a secret diarist, or a would-be journalist, come find your unique writing style with British Council’s Introduction to Creative Writing course.

This course will help you:

  • Develop your unique writer’s voice and perspective

  • Stimulate out-of-the-box thinking

  • Enhance your artistic expression

  • Express your thoughts clearly

  • Develop a critical appreciation of different writing styles

Course Duration: 50 hours I 9 weeks I Weekend online classes

Course Fee: INR 9,000 per participant.

Special offer: British Council library members can avail a special discount of 10% on the course fee.

Required English Language level: Above Upper-Intermediate level (Grade B2). Know more about the English Language level.

Registration is open now for the new batch, which is starting from 10 October 2020. So, hurry and book your seats!

 

 

Click here to register and take the English Language level assessment test
   

About the Course

Our Introduction to Creative Writing course offers the opportunity to learn a variety of techniques to improve your writing process and enhance creativity.

The course content covers fiction, short stories, poetry and dialogue. You can also learn how to write feature articles, screenplays, news reports, travel writing etc. The syllabus is specifically designed for those who wish to write creatively but appropriate guidance is what they are lacking to realize their dreams.

Our experienced teachers understand this and will guide you towards finding your unique writer’s voice. Once you join our Creative Writing course, you will realize that lively and interactive sessions are exactly what you need to begin your journey as a writer. The course is, however, not aimed at those wishing to improve their academic or technical writing.

Course Content
Developing story ideas into a plot Blogging and social networking
Creating characters and settings Screenwriting
Writing dialogue Children's fiction
Writing short stories Getting published
Digital, visual and traditional poetry Surrealism
Travel writing and place Humour

Schedule for Batch 1

Day Date Time
Saturday 12 Sep 4 - 6 PM
Sunday 13 Sep 4 - 6 PM
Saturday 19 Sep 4 - 6 PM
Sunday 20 Sep 4 - 6 PM
Saturday 26 Sep 4 - 6 PM
Sunday 27 Sep 4 - 6 PM
Saturday 03 Oct 4 - 6 PM
Sunday 04 Oct 4 - 6 PM
Saturday 10 Oct 4 - 6 PM
Sunday 11 Oct 4 - 6 PM
Saturday 17 Oct 4 - 6 PM
Sunday 18 Oct 4 - 6 PM
Saturday 24 Oct 4 - 6 PM
Sunday 25 Oct 4 - 6 PM
Saturday 31 Oct 4 - 6 PM
Sunday 01 Nov 4 - 6 PM
Saturday 07 Nov 4 - 6 PM
Sunday 08 Nov 4 - 6 PM

Schedule for Batch 2

Day Date Time
Saturday 10 Oct 10 AM - 12 PM
Sunday 11 Oct 10 AM - 12 PM
Saturday 17 Oct 10 AM - 12 PM
Sunday 18 Oct 10 AM - 12 PM
Saturday 24 Oct 10 AM - 12 PM
Sunday 25 Oct 10 AM - 12 PM
Saturday 31 Oct 10 AM - 12 PM
Sunday 01 Nov 10 AM - 12 PM
Saturday 07 Nov 10 AM - 12 PM
Sunday 08 Nov 10 AM - 12 PM
Saturday 14 Nov 10 AM - 12 PM
Sunday 15 Nov 10 AM - 12 PM
Saturday 21 Nov 10 AM - 12 PM
Sunday 22 Nov 10 AM - 12 PM
Saturday 28 Nov 10 AM - 12 PM
Sunday 29 Nov 10 AM - 12 PM
Saturday 05 Dec 10 AM - 12 PM
Sunday 06 Dec 10 AM - 12 PM

Course Delivery

  • 36 hours of learning will happen through online classes and 14 hours of interaction and peer-learning will be facilitated through our online interactive learning platform- Edmodo.

  • There will be assessments by the teacher during the mid and end of the course.

How to Register?

  • Interested candidates are required to fill up an online form and provide their details (name, email, mobile, city, and profession). To register, click here.

  • Candidates will be required to take an English language assessment though EnglishScore App. Our staff will contact candidates for the necessary support.

  • After taking the English Language level assessment, candidates are required to share the screenshot of their score with the British Council staff.

  • Candidates obtaining Grade B2 and above, in English Language assessment, will proceed with the online payment and registration for the course.

Course Fee

Course Fee: INR 9,000 per participant.

Special offer: British Council library members can avail a special discount of 10% on the course fee.

For any queries, please email us at IndiaLibraries@britishcouncil.org