Creative Writing adults

Whether you are a scribbler, a secret diarist, or a would-be journalist, come find your unique writing style with British Council’s Introduction to Creative Writing course.

This course will help you:

  • Develop your unique writer’s voice and perspective
  • Stimulate out-of-the-box thinking
  • Enhance your artistic expression
  • Express your thoughts clearly
  • Develop a critical appreciation of different writing styles

Required English Language level: Above Upper-Intermediate level (Grade B2). Know more about the English Language level.

Course duration: 36 hours I 9 weeks I weekend online classes | all the participants will receive a digital certificate upon completion of the course.

Course fee: INR 10,000 per participant | special offer to British Council library members - 10% discount on the course fee.

Registration is open for July batch. If you are interested in the course, please leave your details with us. We will contact you soon. 

Leave your details here

About the Course

Our Introduction to Creative Writing course offers the opportunity to learn a variety of techniques to improve your writing process and enhance creativity.

The course content covers fiction, short stories, poetry and dialogue. You can also learn how to write feature articles, screenplays, news reports, travel writing etc. The syllabus is specifically designed for those who wish to write creatively but appropriate guidance is what they are lacking to realise their dreams.

Our experienced teachers understand this and will guide you towards finding your unique writer’s voice. Once you join our Creative Writing course, you will realize that lively and interactive session are exactly what you need to begin your journey as a writer. The course is, however, not aimed at those wishing to improve their academic or technical writing.

Course Content
Developing story ideas into a plot Blogging and social networking
Creating characters and settings Screenwriting
Writing dialogue Children's fiction
Writing short stories Getting published
Digital, visual and traditional poetry Surrealism
Travel writing and place Humour

Schedule for July batch

Day Date Time
Saturday 3 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 4 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 10 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 11 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 17 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 18 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 24 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 25 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 31 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 1 Aug 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 7 Aug 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 8 Aug 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 14 Aug 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 21 Aug 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 29 Aug 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 30 Aug 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 4 Sep 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 5 Sep 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM

Schedule for June batch

Day Date Time
Saturday 12 Jun 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 13 Jun 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 19 Jun 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 20 Jun 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 26 Jun 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 27 Jun 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 3 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 4 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 10 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 11 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 17 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 18 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 24 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 25 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 31 Jul 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 1 Aug 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 7 Aug 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 8 Aug 11 AM - 1 PM | 4 PM - 6 PM

Schedule for May batch

Day Date Time
Saturday 1 May 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 2 May 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 8 May 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 9 May 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 15 May 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 16 May 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 22 May 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 23 May 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 29 May 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 30 May 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 5 Jun 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 6 Jun 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 12 Jun 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 13 Jun 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 19 Jun 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 20 Jun 4 PM - 6 PM
Saturday 26 Jun 4 PM - 6 PM
Sunday 27 Jun 4 PM - 6 PM

Course Delivery

  • 36 hours of learning will happen through online classes and 14 hours of interaction and peer-learning will be facilitated through our online interactive learning platform- Edmodo.

  • There will be assessments by the teacher during the mid and end of the course

  • Participants should use their own laptop/desktop to attend the session. 

  • Recording/taking screenshot/photos of the course is strictly prohibited.

Course Fee

Course Fee: INR 10,000 per participant.

Special offer: British Council library members can avail a special discount of 10% on the course fee.

How to Register?

Registration is open for July batch. If you are interested in the course, please leave your details here. We will contact you soon.

Terms and Conditions

  • Non-refundable fee is payable in full prior to the commencement of course
  • If obliged to cancel the course, the British Council reserves the right to do so without further liability, subject to the return of any fee already paid. The course schedule is subject to change. Participants will be notified of the changes, if any
  • The course schedule is subject to change. Participants will be notified the changes, if any.

For any query, please email us at Indialibraries@britishcouncil.org